I hate/love the world…

Some things are set in stone. Some things are constantly changing. That is the reason for the vague title. At the present moment I am feeling a rather strong tendency towards the hate side, but I’m sure that will change tomorrow and I will be filled with boundless optimism.

Anyway, what is wrong with the world? The answer is lots. Lots of lots. Incredible amounts of lots. Infinite lots… I’ll stop there, shall I? But, speaking as a Buddhist (yes really, I am) (sort of) (don’t brackets confuse you?), I really, really want the world to be ruled by peace and eco-ness. (Is that a word?) I want joy to jump about, and into the minds and hearts and souls of every last living thing. (Even mushrooms)*. But obviously it doesn’t. So, in theory, I should not like the world. But read the title.

Now don’t point the finger at me (it’s metaphorical) and exclaim in a rather-too-loud-to-be-pleasant voice ‘Aha! I knew you weren’t a true Buddhist!’ Because it gets really quite irritating after a while. The reason why I cannot express my opinion about the world without changing it a few seconds later is because, deep down, I do quite like this blue planet. Not love, but quite like. There is a difference.

The reason why I like our modest ball of not-actually-that-much is because it is fun. Sort of. You can traverse the globe, absorbing so many different cultures you will turn into a great big ball of culture. (Sorry about the terrible metaphor-I was away when they did English at school.)  You can eat different cuisines every day for a thousand years! (Maybe.) You can learn thousands of languages, experience hundreds of different climates, learn uncountable different religions, and most important of all…

P.S. Complete this article in your comment. I will nominate a winner and then change this post accordingly.

P.P.S. By doing this, I am not being lazy. Honest.

P.P.P.S. Erm… I’ve always wanted to do a P.P.P.S. you know, so don’t rain on my parade. (Or my P.P.P.S.)

* I ‘ve always hated mushrooms. (With the fire of a thousand burning hells. Possibly.)

Benzi

5 responses to “I hate/love the world…

Leave a Reply

